Angela Strassheim

Angela Strassheim was born in Bloomfield, Iowa – USA and now lives in Connecticut and works in New York and Israel.

www.angelastrassheim.com

 

Future exhibitions:

The Kids are Alright, Addison Gallery of American Art, Andover, MA, Sept 14 – Jan 5 (2014)

The Kids are Alright, The Weatherspoon Art Museum, Greensboro, NC, May 25 – Aug 18

 

All Images Copyright © Angela Strassheim – Published with permission of the author.

I quote the author: “In my second series, Pause, I explored what it means to be a daughter and examined the complex dramas that reveal themselves in relationships with the father and other male figures of significance.  Many times my inspirations come from my own life experiences. I search for a stand-in, someone that represents myself from my past.

Cito l’autrice: ” Nella mia seconda serie, Pause, ho approfondito cosa voglia dire essere una figlia ed ho esaminato il complesso dramma che si rivela nella relazione con il padre od un’altra figura maschile di rilevanza. Molte volte mi ispiro direttamente dalle mie esperienze. Cerco spesso una controfugura, qualcuno che rappresenti me nel passato.

I choose what to photograph by selecting memories that haunt me in a confusing, disturbing moment of question.  By recreating these events, it allows me to see myself through other people.  I ask myself, “What did that event look like to someone else?” or “How was the other person affected who witnessed the event?”

Scelgo cosa fotografare selezionando i ricordi che mi mettono in confusione, in uno stato inquieto in cui mi pongo domande. Ricreando questi eventi posso vedere me stessa attraverso le altre persone. Mi chiedo: “Quanto questi eventi assomigliano alla storia di qualcun’altro?” o “Come stava l’altra persona che ha assistito all’evento?”

Rispondi

