Aline Smithson

Aline Smithson was born in Los Angeles, California.

www.alinesmithson.com

www.lenscratch.com

 

I love the humor of this work, “Portrait of the Painter’s Mother”, I find it very sweet. I quote a paragraph written by the artist: “I created a set in my garage and I asked my 85-year-old mother to be my model. She did not understand what I was up to, but it allowed us to spend time together and that was important to both of us. My mother was very fragile at the time. She was in an out of the hospital during those years, and sometimes I had to wait for her health to improve so we could continue. As a model she often wanted to be dramatic in the images, and I had to tone her down. My favorite shoot was recreating the geisha image. She kept laughing as I was trying to focus and I had to tell her to stop smiling so much. When I finally was able to focus on the whole image, I realized that she was giving me the finger. I printed that one for myself. As I progressed with the series, it become more meaningful, especially because I was bringing joy and laughter into our lives when there was plenty to cry about. I was amazed at how well my mother embodied each character, and I was still able to capture her elegance, humor, and willingness to try anything. Each time I repaint one of the photographs, I think about her and I see the whole process of this project as a gift, allowing me time to reflect on our collaboration. My mother died before she was able to see the finished product. She would be amazed that people all over the world have seen and love this work. I too am amazed that these funky sets, built against my garage, opened the door to the world of photography. Personally, I consider that magic.” I consider it magic too…enjoy.

Adoro il senso dell’umorismo di questo lavoro, lo trovo molto dolce. Riporto un paragrafo scritto dall’artista: “Ho creato un set nel mio garage e ho chiesto a mia madre di 85 anni di essere la mia modella. Lei in realtà non capì bene cosa volessi fare, ma accettò da passare un po’ di tempo insieme, e questo fu un bene per entrambe. Mia madre era molto fragile al tempo. Entrava ed usciva dagli ospedali in quegli anni, a volte ho dovuto aspettare che la sua salute migliorasse per continuare il lavoro. Come vera modella, cercava di essere il più drammatica possibile nelle immagini, ho dovuto calmarla a volte. Il mio scatto preferito è stato quello della geisha. Lei continuava a ridere al punto che dovetti chiederle di smettere. Quando finalmente riuscii mettere a fuoco l’intera imagine, mi resi conto che mi stava facendo il “ditone”. Quell’immagine l’ho stampata per me. Dal momento che la serie continuava ad andare a vanti, tutto cominciò a prendere più significato, perchè stava portando gioia e risate alle nostre vite, quando in realtà ci sarebbe solo stato che piangere. Ero affascinata da come mia madre riusciva ad interpretare ogni personaggio, sono stata capace di catturare la sua eleganaza, il suo umorismo e la sua disponibilità nel provare ogni cosa. Ogni volta che ridisegno una delle fotografie, ripenso a lei e vodo tutto il processo di questo lavoro come un dono che mi ha dato modo di riflettere sulla nostra collaborazione. Mia madre morì prima di poter vedere il prodotto finito. Sarebbe stata entusiasta nel sapere che tanta gente l’ha visto e apprezzato. Anche io sono stupita che questi buffi set, costruiti nel mio garage, mi aprirono le porte al mondo della fotografia. Personalmente, lo considero magico.” Enjoy.

 

All Images Copyright © Aline Smithson – Published with permission of the author.

Rispondi

